Staying Motivated

Though the going gets tough and the tough gets going, I am learning that you have to stay motivated in the world of public relations.  If you are not motivated to get the job that you are applying for, someone else will be.

Staying focused on your career goals may be hard, especially if you keep getting turned down, but staying connected to the right people can be a great help to this.  For example, my family members are always pushing me forward and telling me to get back on the horse.  I also have other undergraduate students who aer going through the same situations as me.  Some of my friends are better off, some of my friends ar worse off, but we help each other out and talk to each other about our frustrations.

Finally, motivate yourself.  Being a self-motivated person will help you in the long run.  You will think more positively, apply for more opportunities, and you won’t give up so easily.  Also, you will need to be self-motivated in your future profession as a public relations professional anyway, so if you’re serious about your career, then it won’t be so hard to find things to motivate yourself.  Just keep your goals and your focus in mind, be a go-getter, know your stuff, and you will succeed.

About Jeniffer Sumner

Jeniffer Sumner is the Marketing and PR Associate at VCS. Sumner is also a public relations blogger, who enjoys blogging about her experiences in the workforce, company case studies, and advice for up-and-coming individuals who would like to enter the industry. Follow her on twitter: @jeniffersumner

Posted on April 15, 2012, in PR Advice. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hang in there, Jeniffer. You are definitely a motivated young lady! You’re so fortunate to have the support of your friends and family, but I’m confident it’s your talent that will land you your dream job! Good luck!

    • It is a truly a blessing to have my family and friends to continuously push me because I know they are looking out for my best interest! Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

